Course Information

Who is the course for?

This qualification is for individuals who want, or need to become MOT testers of light vehicles.

It is recognised by the Driver and Vehicle Services Agency (DVSA), as meeting its requirements to apply to become an MOT tester. 

Once qualified, an MOT tester learner will need to demonstrate competence by completing a DVSA observed and assessed demonstration test. DVSA will then issue a Certificate of Competence (CoC) as required by Directive EU 2014/45 and will authorise the individual to become a qualified nominated tester (NT), as long as all other eligibility criteria have been met.

What does the course involve?

The content of the qualification includes:

• working safely within a vehicle test centre

• communicating with colleagues and customers

• how to manage and maintain their CPD

• carrying out pre-test checks

• carrying out an MOT test.

Entry Requirements

To be eligible to undertake the qualification to become an MOT tester, a learner must:

• have a current and full UK driving licence for the vehicle classes they want to test 

• be a skilled mechanic with at least four years of full-time employment in the service and repair of the vehicle types to be tested. (Apprentices who have been employed for four years are eligible.)

• have no unspent convictions for criminal offences connected with the MOT testing scheme or the motor trade, or involving acts of violence or intimidation

• be ‘of good repute’.

What are the assessment methods?

This qualification is subject to assessment in the form of an online test.

The IMI developed online test is made up of a bank of questions that are randomly selected to cover the knowledge requirements of the qualification. The test consists of 40 questions, to be answered in 75 minutes, spanning the breadth of the content for each of the units.

In addition to the online test, learners must successfully undertake a practical assessment.

To become a nominated tester (NT) for class 3, 4, 5 or 7 vehicles, learners must also have an ‘appropriate’ qualification. The College and DVSA will check these pre-requisite items when learners apply for the course and the Certification of Competence (CoC) observation.

This qualification specification is only available in the medium of English. The MOT Testing Manual, MOT Testing Guide and other published documents are a key source of information and are also only available in English. Learners must be conversant in English language prior to undertaking these qualifications.

How long is the course?

The course is five days.

Awarding Body

The Institute of the Motor Industry (IMI).

Course Details

Further Information