Term Dates

The academic year, which starts in September, is split into three terms: Autumn, Spring and Summer. Terms are separated by Christmas, Easter and Summer holidays respectively. Each is made up of two parts, separated by week-long half term holidays. Specific dates are listed below.

Bridgwater & Taunton College is closed over the Christmas holiday but remains open during Easter, Summer and Half Term holidays. There are a number of public single day bank holidays throughout the year (listed below) where The College will also be closed.

Start and end dates for Higher Education (HE) courses differ in some instances and these are marked below.

2017/18 Academic Year

Autumn Term

First Half: Mon 4 Sept – Fri 20 Oct 2017 (7 weeks)
(HE students start Mon 25 Sept)
Half Term: Mon 23 Oct – Fri 27 Oct 2017
Second Half: Mon 30 Oct – Thur 21 Dec 2017

Spring Term

First Half: Mon 8 Jan –  Fri 9 Feb 2018 (6 weeks)
Half Term: Mon 12 Feb – Fri 16 Feb 2018
Second Half: Mon 19 Feb – Fri 23 Mar 2018 (6 weeks)

Summer Term

First Half: Mon 9 Apr – Fri 25 May 2018 (6 weeks)
Half Term: Mon 28 May – Fri 1 Jun 2018
Second Half: Mon 4 Jun – Fri 29 Jun 2018 (4 weeks)
(HE students finish Fri 22 Jun)

Bank Holidays

  • Good Friday 30 March 2018
  • Easter Monday 2 April 2018
  • May Day Bank Holiday 7 May 2018
  • Spring Bank Holiday 28 May 2018